Skip to content

The National COordinating COmmittee on the UNCAC and IACAC is Guyana’s mechanism for reporting and follow-up on regional and international anti-corruption treaties, conventions and agreements. 

In June 2021 the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance established the National Coordinating Committee (NCC) to allow for a more structured approach to Guyana’s reporting, specifically under the United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC), the Inter-American Convention against Corruption (IACAC), the Lima Commitment, and the United Nations General Assembly’s Political Declaration on Corruption.

The NCC is intended to encourage greater inclusiveness and participation in the reporting process, while ensuring consistent quality in state party reports and submissions. It also allows for a coordinated approach to the monitoring and follow-up on the recommendations emanating from the reporting process. Most important of all, the NCC is building institutional and systemic inter-agency collaboration in the anti-corruption framework of Guyana.

The NCC, chaired by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance, and the Ministry’s Governance Unit also serves as the secretariat of the body. 


Member Organisations

The NCC meets quarterly and currently has sixteen (16) agencies represented on the Committee. The agencies are:

  1. Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance (Coordinator and Secretariat)
  2. Bank of Guyana,
  3. Guyana Police Force, and
  4. Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA)
  5. Integrity Commission
  6. Judicial Service Commission
  7. Ministry of Finance
  8. Ministry of Home Affairs,
  9. Ministry of Legal Affairs,
  10. Ministry of Public Service,
  11. National Procurement and Tender Administration Board (NPTAB)
  12. Office of the Auditor General
  13. Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
  14. Public/Police Service Commission
  15. Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU)
  16. Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU)